Some Updates on the MDD

So today I had some downtime and figured I would improve the MDD a bit in the hardware dept.

One thing I didn’t mention was that I replaced the broken Optical Drive with a DVD burner out of a Core 2 Duo Gateway desktop and now I can use discs in the thing! Next thing was a CMOS battery as that was dead too so I found one that worked out of a 2.3GHz Power Mac G5 logic board from a G5 I recently gutted.

However there’s something that tops the other two things I replaced. Any guesses? It’s an SSD with a SATA card. This SSD is a 60GB Kingston SATAII drive that has been ran according to DriveDx for over two years. This SSD has been in almost every computer I owned since 2012 as it has been swapped between many PCs and Macs! I finally went to a 120GB in my MacBook Pro so the old 60GB needed a home in which case I found the MDD would be a good fit. Copying over files from the original hard drive now so soon I should be running at SSD speeds!

Just a minor update, figured I should share 🙂

IMG_0914

This entry was posted in Customization, G4, Hardware and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some Updates on the MDD

  1. What SATA card did you use? Sonnet’s Tempo or some generic PC compatible one?

  2. Rick says:

    I would like to know about the SATA card too. I have a Sawtooth too that has the 120GB PATA limit. Also, the machine has acquired a weird tendency to power itself on unexpectedly. I suspect that may be the battery.

Leave a Reply

